Pickettwrites

from pickett&associates … exploring PR, social media and entrepreneurship

A Fine Line … Between “Multi-Tasking” and “A.D.D.” July 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — pickettwrites @ 11:11 am

The challenges of starting one’s own business are well chronicled and many; and there are an equal number of articles touting solutions. Being thrust into business-start-up mode rather abruptly magnifies those challenges.

I find myself exploring legal issues, tackling organizational tasks, brainstorming branding and conducting business development … while making an effort to accomplish some tasks around the house that have gone too-long undone.  The result: Yesterday I was experiencing what I referred to as “full-blown A.D.D.” Before you think I’m making light, let me assure you (and if you know me well, this is no surprise, but let’s share with the others) that I have undoubtedly fought this my entire life. My favorite copy editor caught onto this quickly in the early 1990s. When she and the art director were anxiously awaiting proofs, she came into my office, took my hand, patted it on the flat (there’s a term we haven’t thought of in a while) and said, “You need to proof THIS one NOW.” I could have used that organized angel during the homework hours of junior high. Nonetheless, I’ve learned to function around it, forcing some rituals on myself so tasks get done in an orderly manner. (So, for those of you who think I’ve got compulsive tendencies, No, I’m just trying to manage my attention deficit issues.)

You see, it’s not that I don’t get anything done; conversely I get everything done … but not in a very orderly manner. My goal today is to organize my work day into set time slots and methodically move through my workload. (In my head, I can hear my mother saying, “The path to hell is paved with good intentions.”)

Meanwhile, the significant other has shared a good way to monitor “a balanced life” — certainly the goal of everyone who ventures out on their own. “Every day, do something for the business, something for your mind, something for your body/health, something for us, and something for the house.” We’ve been ticking through that list each evening, and there is a pleasing sense of accomplishment when you can hit every area.

So, this morning starts with the 7:30 a.m. yoga class. A good step toward a focused day and something for my health AND mind. In the meantime, a photo of yesterday’s visitor … an amazing butterfly enjoying my Echinacea (cone flower) garden. I took it as a harbinger of good tidings from Mother Nature. Right back at ya, Lady!

 

3 Responses to “A Fine Line … Between “Multi-Tasking” and “A.D.D.””

  1. Amy Says:

    A very smart significant other. I don’t know if it’s ADD or just being a creative type, but I’m with you.

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Over the past 3 days, we’ve had 5 painted-lady butterflies emerge from the chrysalis. And we have an ant house, too! I’ve been reading books on ants & butterflies to Caroline.
    It’s great to watch God’s creation up close 🙂 Now that they are all out with wings spread, we can release them. Maybe one will show up at your house with a warm greeting.
    A side note (’cause I’ve got ADD, too), it was great when an exterminator was making his way through the neighborhood last week & asked if we had ants, spiders, or wasps. Caroline replied, “We’ve got ants in the kitchen. They came in the mail.”
    I just blame the kids for my ADD. Working away at one task when I am suddenly pulled away to handle some “crisis.” Then I realize that the pot is boiling over on the stove, the laundry was being transferred from washer to dryer, or I never got my hair combed after rushing from the shower.
    Anyway, we’ll be praying for the success of your new business venture.

  3. Suz Kunesh Wilhelm Says:

    A-D-D…
    You’re A Disco Duck?…
    You quack me up!
    Keep dancin’!


Leave a Reply

