Pickettwrites

from pickett&associates … exploring PR, social media and entrepreneurship

Are You Pushing Your Blog? September 29, 2010

Filed under: Social Media — pickettwrites @ 8:10 am

I distinctly remember my initial disdain for blogging. It was about five  years ago, and I think I said something like, “Why don’t you just go in the restroom and talk to yourself … at least the acoustics will be better.”

Yep. That’s the way to make friends in a staff meeting.

At that point, the only experience our PR firm had with blogging was the  lone employee who had entered the blogosphere on his own and … oops … ranted a bit about a client. He SHOULD have just gone into the restroom and talked to himself. Ironically, today he works in a very controlled corporate setting … blogging.

Over time, I learned more about blogging. I learned it could be a tremendous tool for marketing one’s expertise that would ultimately drive business. The “blogosphere” grew. I had friends who quit their full-time jobs to create a business around their blog … and they have been remarkably successful. I learned that dropping in a few keywords and linking back to one’s website can drive interest and even generate leads; I’ve also learned that a blog is NO place for hawking one’s product or brewing up “keyword soup.”

Despite my initial misgivings, blogging has become one of the social media tasks I enjoy most. I blog for myself (obviously) and assist clients in their blogging efforts as well. Yet many entrepreneurs STILL don’t understand HOW to market their blogs. Thanks to the Junta42 blog, Joe Pulizzi this morning lists “35 Ways to Market Your Blog.” 35! Who knew? Click the link and take a look … REALLY some great ideas. Another great bit of insight from Michiel Gaasterland that I  enjoyed earlier in the week, “Shameless Blog Promotion.”

As always, one needs a social media strategy before jumping into blogging. What do you hope to accomplish? How will you know it’s effective? Set up this strategic framework, make a commitment to “blog early, blog often,” and then PUSH your blog out. I know there are lots of you out there who are actively following this strategy … Any other tips you’d like to share?

It’s Wednesday … client meetings, errands, and finishing up September’s “to-do” tasks for clients. And enjoying another lovely autumn day here in the Midwest … I think it’s a  good day for a pot of chili!

 

3 Responses to “Are You Pushing Your Blog?”

  1. kevvy Says:

    For the record, I am that lone blogger. And it’s worth noting I didn’t rant about a client. I did mention a client by name, but not negatively. Just mentioned I was doing some work for them that day.

    Still a no-no? Perhaps. But Most certainly not a rant.

    Did I rant about co-workers? Well…

    • Ah, the memories … let the good times roll. Admittedly, I wasn’t “following you” at the time,but I was given the impression that you were “ranting.” And being insubordinate. Whatever that means.

  2. david Says:

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages


Leave a Reply

