Pickettwrites

from pickett&associates … exploring PR, social media and entrepreneurship

Timing is Everything May 1, 2011

Filed under: Random Thoughts — pickettwrites @ 12:49 pm

There are two questions I receive multiple times each week:

Question 1: How is business?

Chenrezig, bodhisattva of compassion by Kathleen Wedmore

A: Great! Happy clients, new clients, clients in the pipeline; we’re looking at office space and will soon retain an administrator, an assistant and an intern.

Question 2: Don’t you wonder why you didn’t do this sooner?

And that answer is the topic of today’s blog … because “timing is everything.”

I believe my successes to date are certainly not “overnight” in origin. I can track the origins of my clients back 10, 15 even 20 years. Whether it is a referral from someone I worked with in a previous position or a relationship I developed through the local chamber of commerce, these are people with whom I have a shared a common interest or a mutual friend.

When I found myself abruptly downsized from a local PR agency, I began letting my contacts know that I was available for hire through LinkedIn, emails and telephone calls. A referral from a former co-worker (from 1998) got the ball rolling within the first week, and the rest followed.

But none of these projects would have been as successful without the experience of moving from my secure position I had enjoyed for nearly five years at an established public relations firm to a younger, more Internet and social media-focused firm. And even though things didn’t work out there as I had planned, I would not have garnered the awareness or knowledge that has resulted in happy clients and ultimately more referrals. 

Life’s path should not be spent ruminating about the past or anxiously anticipating what the future may bring. Likewise, we can get so caught up in trying to fit into our plans and attain our dreams that we may miss those golden opportunities stretched out before us, ready for the taking.

In yoga class, we learn about being mindful of each moment and rejoicing in the clarity of the stillness that comes in those blissful moments of meditation. It’s a reminder that if we’re just “still,” and approach life with an open heart, good things will come.

So, do I ever wonder “why I didn’t do this sooner?” Not so much … for now is the perfect time.

Happy May 1 to all …

 

Leave a Reply

